

### The Russell Sage Foundation

The Russell Sage Foundation, one of the oldest of America's general purpose foundations, was established in 1907 by Mrs. Margaret Olivia Sage for "the improvement of social and living conditions in the United States." The foundation seeks to fulfill this mandate by fostering the development and dissemination of knowledge about the country's political, social, and economic problems. While the foundation endeavors to assure the accuracy and objectivity of each book it publishes, the conclusions and interpretations in Russell Sage Foundation publications are those of the authors and not of the foundation, its trustees, or its staff. Publication by Russell Sage, therefore, does not imply foundation endorsement.

## **Board of Trustees**

Jennifer Lee, Chair Marianne Bertrand Cathy J. Cohen Sheldon Danziger James N. Druckman Jason Furman Michael Jones-Correa David Laibson David Leonhardt

Earl Lewis

Hazel Rose Markus Tracey L. Meares Mary Pattillo Jennifer Richeson Thomas J. Sugrue Celeste Watkins-Hayes

#### **Mission Statement**

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars. It is designed to promote cross-disciplinary collaborations on timely issues of interest to academics, policymakers, and the public at large. Each issue is thematic in nature and focuses on a specific research question or area of interest. The introduction to each issue will include an accessible, broad, and synthetic overview of the research question under consideration and the current thinking from the various social sciences.

# **RSF Journal Editorial Board\***

\* All editorial board members are based in the United States unless otherwise noted.

Scott W. Allard, University of Washington Asad L. Asad, Stanford University Irene Bloemraad, University of British Columbia, Vancouver Sheldon H. Danziger, Russell Sage Foundation

Erica Groshen, Cornell University

Leslie Paik, Arizona State University Nicole Shelton, Princeton University Thomas J. Sugrue, New York University

Thomas J. Sugrue, New York University Celeste Watkins-Hayes, University of Michigan Copyright © 2025 by Russell Sage Foundation. All rights reserved. Printed in the United States of America. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the publisher. Permission is not granted for large language model training. Reproduction by the United States Government in whole or in part is permitted for any purpose.

Opinions expressed in this journal are not necessarily those of the editors, editorial board, trustees, or the Russell Sage Foundation.

We invite scholars to submit proposals for potential issues to journal@rsage.org. Submissions should be addressed to Suzanne Nichols, Director of Publications.

To view the complete text and additional features online please go to **www.rsfjournal.org**.

### **Open Access Policy**

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is an open access journal. It is published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-No Derivs 3.0 Unported License.

### **Russell Sage Foundation**

112 East 64th Street New York, NY 10065

ISSN (print): 2377-8253 ISSN (electronic): 2377-8261

ISBN: 978-0-87154-826-9 ROR: https://ror.org/02yh9se80