Marvel Zombies FAQ-2 0
Marvel Zombies FAQ-2 0
Are Doors only used when specifically mentioned in the Is there a limit to the number of dice I can roll at any time?
Mission Setup? A: N o.
A: All Doors are printed on the Map Tiles and begin the game
closed unless specifically called out otherwise in the If an effect gives me a free Action but also increases my
Mission Setup. Hunger to the point where I am Ravenous, can I still perform
that Action?
any effects state you can spend
M or Increase Hunger
to gain bonuses (Such as “When Attacking, Spend 1 to A: Y es.Ravenous only prevents you from choosing or
reroll any misses”. Is there a limit to the number of times I selecting Actions while already in the Ravenous state.
Becoming Ravenous during an Action does not impact
can use these effects? that Action in any way.
A: Unless specifically stated otherwise, effects can only be
used once each time they would trigger.
If I am Ravenous, the only Actions I may perform are Move or
Example: If an effect allows you to spend 1 when Devour. What about Mission Objectives such as “leaving the
Attacking to reroll dice, you may only use it once each time
you Attack. map”, which are never called out as being “Actions”?
A: Y es, these may still be done.
If a Mission Objective is “Rescue/Devour all Bystanders”
and additional Bystanders are somehow spawned during the If to perform an Attack I use an ability that increases my
game, are they included in this objective? Hunger, do I roll bonus dice based on my Hunger Level before or
A: Y es. after this increase?
A: A fter. You roll bonus dice equal to your Hunger Level at the
D o I gain XP when I use Skills or effects to eliminate moment you roll dice. If an ability increases your Hunger
before rolling, your bonus is based on the increased value.
Enemies, or only when Attacking?
A: A ny time you eliminate an Enemy, you gain XP.
1
MARVEL ZOMBIES - FAQ 2.0
FAQ MARVEL ZOMBIES
If an Enemy Hero has their Toughness reduced by some If a Skill with “Push” does not specify a direction, do I get
special effect, is the XP gained for eliminating them equal to choose the push direction?
to their original Toughness or their modified Toughness? A: Y es.
A: I f the Toughness is temporarily reduced by an ability of
the attacking Hero (such as Enemies suffer -1 Toughness
against your Attack), then the XP reward is unaffected and
If a Skill says to target “A Bystander or Player Hero in your
remains equal to the printed Toughness. If, however, the Zone”, is the user an eligible target?
Toughness is altered by the Enemy's own special effect
(such as zombie Hulk), then the XP reward is equal to their
A: Y es, you may target yourself unless stated otherwise.
current Toughness.
If a Skill that states it can be used “Once during your Turn”
Do I get XP for all Enemies eliminated by an Attack made using does not explicitly state when it is triggered, can it be used
an Interactive Object? in the middle of another Action?
A: Y es. A: No. You cannot interrupt Actions with Skills, Abilities, or
other effects.
A: Y es. While other Enemy Heroes in the Zone can still be
targeted, other Enemies lower in Target Priority are Do Enemy Heroes’ Non-Action abilities require Line of Sight?
untouchable.
A: Y es. Unless otherwise specified, ALL effects require Line of
Sight.
2
MARVEL ZOMBIES - FAQ 2.0
FAQ MARVEL ZOMBIES
If a Super Hero is eliminated by a Devour Attack, is their
Super Hero spawn card still included when reshuffling the
Super Hero deck?
ENEMIES
A: Y es. GALACTUS - Does destroying Galactus Parts award any XP?
If I eliminate an Enemy Hero while their Toughness value is A: No.
modified, do I gain the modified Toughness value as XP?
HYDRA SOLDIERS - Do effects that target Walkers/
A: No, you always gain XP based on the Toughness value Troopers affect Hydra Soldiers?
written on the card.
A: No. Hydra Soldiers are not considered Walkers or Troopers.
Can I use an Attack Action to target a Zone with no Enemies
in it?
A: Y ou need a valid target in the Zone in order to attack it.
When the Overdrive! Brute Spawn card is drawn, do Brutes
standing on a Zone with a Super Hero move? Do Super
Heroes lose Power if a Brute is already standing in their
Zone or only if a Brute enters their Zone?
A: Brutes in a Zone with Super Heroes don’t move and the
Super Heroes in that Zone still lose Power.
Some Heroes have abilities that swap their base Attack with
a single die (no bonuses possible). Does this refer only to
no bonus dice or all other bonuses (like +1 to dice results)?
A: " No bonuses possible" refers only to bonus dice. Other
bonuses are still usable.
3
MARVEL ZOMBIES - FAQ 2.0
FAQ MARVEL ZOMBIES
PLAYER HEROES ROGUE (Living) - Is her Absorb Abilities Skill able to copy
both a Skill and Attack from other Super Hero or just one
of them? For example, if Gambit is in range, is she be able to
perform a Charged Toss (which requires the use of his Card
COLOSSUS (Zombie) – Can I use his Charge Skill when there Throw Attack) or would it just be limited to Card Throw?
are no Enemies in the destination Zone?
A: No, you may only copy wither a Skill or an Attack. In this
A: Y es, you can. However, the free Attack will be lost. case, Gambit’s Charged Toss does nothing for Rogue, as it
only activates when using Card Throw.
A: Y es. it using all rules for targeting a Zone with Super Heroes.
However, since the Hologram is not a Super Hero and thus
cannot be assigned Wounds, if there are real Super Heroes
KITTY PRYDE – If she is sharing a Zone with other Super in the same Zone they must be assigned any Wounds.
Heroes, can all Wounds be redirected to Kitty Pryde and be
completely negated due to her Phase Out Skill WASP (Zombie) - Can I use the Feast Zombie Trait card
A: Not quite. Her Phase Out Skill allows her to spend Power to in conjunction with Wasp’s Tiny Body, Big Meal Skill to
make it so specific Bystanders or Super Heroes in her Zone automatically eliminate 2 Enemy types in that area?
can’t be allocated Wounds. If this results in everybody in her
Zone being ineligible for allocating Wounds, then nobody is
A: No. The two effects are not compatible. If Tiny Body, Big
Meal is used to automatically eliminate a S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent,
wounded. However, if anybody there is not protected by
then no dice are rolled, which means it is not possible to
her Skill, then they must be allocated the Wounds.
target more than 1 Enemy using Feast.
MYSTERIO (Living) – If there is only 1 Walker or Runner in WOLVERINE (Living) – If he has 2 Wounds, do dice results of
a Zone, can I still use his Illusionary Foes Skill to eliminate 4 generate extra dice rolls from his Berserker Rage Skill?
them? (Since his Skill would turn a 4 into a 6 and then each roll
A: Y es, you can always do less than the Skill allows you to do. In of 6 should roll +die.)
this case, you may target just 1 Walker or Runner.
A: No. “Roll of 6” effects require rolling an actual 6 on the die.
A modified result due to a bonus doesn’t count.
4
MARVEL ZOMBIES - FAQ 2.0
FAQ MARVEL ZOMBIES
ENEMY HEROES PROFESSOR X (Zombie) – Does his Ability cause Super Hero
Skills that do not cost Power to now cost 1 Power?
A: No. Professor X’s ability only affects skills that require
Power to be spent. Skills that do not mention using Power
DOCTOR STRANGE (Living) – Should a Spawn card be drawn are unaffected.
immediately after drawing Doctor Strange’s Super Hero
Card?
WOLVERINE (Living) – When his game piece is laid on its
A: No, Doctor Strange does not cause a spawn on the same side, can he be targeted by Skills that pull, push or eliminate
Phase in which he is spawned himself. all Enemies in the Zone? Does his presence cost Zombie
Heroes an extra Action to move out of his Zone?
HULK (Zombie) - When discarding a Bystander card to A: No. For all intents and purposes Wolverine counts as not
trigger Hulk’s ability, does this also trigger the Bystander’s being on the board until he stands back up.
discard ability, such as Aunt May’s or Karen Page’s?
A: No, to use a Bystander’s discard effect, they must be
discarded for that specific purpose only.
5
MARVEL ZOMBIES - FAQ 2.0