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Digital Marketing (MKT905)

Under the Guidance of


Dr. Atul Sharma: 30444
Digital Marketing Report (MKT 905)
B.Tech (Lovely Professional University) Punjab, India

Group - Peer Rating


Section : 12107782 (K0313)

Name Registration No Roll no Marks/Rating Section

Shivam Pathak 12107782 11 10 PART C

Prince 12107721 10 10 PART B

Adarsh 121107846 9 10 PART B


Part A: Optimising Foundations
Identify and address common server issues that may affect the website's
performance and search engine visible overview of key aspects of the
business and strategies for future growth.

Evaluate the domain name's impact on SEO and suggest


recommendations for choosing an SEO-friendly domain name. Implement
appropriate redirects for SEO purposes, ensuring a smooth user
experience and preserving SEO value during website updates.

Analyze the content management system for potential SEO troubles and
provide solutions to optimize it for search engines.
What Is Technical SEO?
When we talk about technical SEO, we’re referring to
updates to a website and/or server that you have
immediate control over and which have a direct (or
sometimes indirect) impact on your web pages'
crawlability, indexation, and ultimately, search
rankings.

This includes components like page titles, title tags,


HTTP header responses, XML sitemaps, 301
redirects, and metadata.

Technical SEO does not include analytics, keyword


research, backlink profile development, or social
media strategies.

In our Search Experience Optimization framework,


technical SEO is the first step in creating a better
search experience.

Other SEO projects should come after you've


guaranteed your site has proper usability. But for
an enterprise site, it can be hard to stay on top of
potential SEO problems.
These common technical SEO issues are often
overlooked, yet are straightforward to fix and crucial to
boost your search visibility and SEO success.

1. No HTTPS Security
Site security with HTTPS is more important than ever.

If your site is not secure, when you type your domain


name into Google Chrome, it will display a gray
background — or even worse, a red background with
a “not secure” warning.

This could cause users to immediately navigate away


from your site back to the SERP.
The first step for this quick fix is to check if your site is
HTTPS. To do this, simply type your domain name
into Google Chrome. If you see the “secure” message
(pictured below), your site is secure.

How to Fix It:


• To convert your site to HTTPS, you need an SSL
certificate from a Certificate Authority.
• Once you purchase and install your certificate,
your site will be secure.

2. Site Isn’t Indexed Correctly


When you search for your brand name in Google,
does your website show up in the search results? If
the answer is no, there might be an issue with your
indexation.
As far as Google is concerned, if your pages aren’t
indexed, they don’t exist — and they certainly won’t
be found on the search engines.

How to Check:
• Type the following into Google’s search bar:
“site:yoursitename.com” and instantly view the
count of indexed pages for your site.

How to Fix It:


• If your site isn’t indexed at all, you can begin
by adding your URL to Google.
• If your site is indexed, but there are
many MORE results than expected, look deeper
for either site-hacking spam or old versions of the
site that are indexed instead of appropriate
redirects in place to point to your updated site.
• If your site is indexed, but you see quite a
bit LESS than expected, perform an audit of the
indexed content and compare it against which
pages you want to rank. If you’re not sure why the
content isn’t ranking, check Google’s Webmaster
Guidelines to ensure your site content is
compliant.
• If the results are different than you expected in
any way, verify that your important website pages
are not blocked by your robots.txt file (see #4 on
this list). You should also verify you haven’t
mistakenly implemented a NOINDEX meta tag
(see #5 on this list).

3. No XML Sitemaps
XML sitemaps help Google search bots understand
more about your site pages, so they can effectively
and intelligently crawl your site.

How to Check:
Type your domain name into Google and add “/
sitemap.xml” to the end, as pictured below.
This is usually where the sitemap lives. If your website
has a sitemap, you will see something like this:

How to Fix It:


• If your website doesn’t have a sitemap (and you
end up on a 404 page), you can create one
yourself or hire a web developer to create one for
you. The easiest option is to use an XML sitemap
generating tool. If you have a WordPress site,
the Yoast SEO plugin can automatically generate
XML sitemaps for you.

4. Missing or Incorrect Robots.txt


A missing robots.txt file is a big red flag — but did you
also know that an improperly configured robots.txt file
destroys your organic site traffic?

How to Check:
To determine if there are issues with the robots.txt file,
type your website URL into your browser with a “/
robots.txt” suffix. If you get a result that reads "User-
agent: * Disallow: /" then you have an issue.
(Photo credit for robots.txt bad file.)

How to Fix It:


• If you see “Disallow: /”, immediately talk to your
developer. There could be a good reason it’s set
up that way, or it may be an oversight.
• If you have a complex robots.txt file, like many
ecommerce sites do, you should review it line-by-
line with your developer to make sure it’s correct.

5. Meta Robots NOINDEX Set


When the NOINDEX tag is appropriately configured, it
signifies certain pages are of lesser importance to
search bots. (For example, blog categories with
multiple pages.)

However, when configured incorrectly, NOINDEX can


immensely damage your search visibility by removing
all pages with a specific configuration from Google’s
index. This is a massive SEO issue.

It’s common to NOINDEX large numbers of pages


while the website is in development, but once the
website goes live, it’s imperative to remove the
NOINDEX tag.

Do not blindly trust that it was removed, as the results


will destroy your site's search visibility.

How to Check:
• Right click on your site’s main pages and select
"View Page Source." Use the "Find" command
(Ctrl + F) to search for lines in the source code
that read “NOINDEX” or “NOFOLLOW” such as:
◦ <meta name="robots" content="NOINDEX,
NOFOLLOW">
• If you don’t want to spot check, use Site Audits
technology to scan your entire site.
How to Fix It:
• If you see any “NOINDEX” or “NOFOLLOW” in
your source code, check with your web developer
as they may have included it for specific reasons.
• If there’s no known reason, have your developer
change it to read <meta name="robots" content="
INDEX, FOLLOW"> or remove the tag altogether.
Recommended Reading: The Best SEO Checklist to
Boost Search Visibility and Rankings

6. Slow Page Speed


If your site doesn’t load quickly (typically 3 seconds or
less), your users will go elsewhere.

Page speed matters to the user experience — and to


Google's algorithm. In summer of 2021, Google
announced that the page experience update (which
includes metrics from Core Web Vitals) rolled out and
updated a new Page Experience report in Search
Console.

How to Check:
• Use Google PageSpeed Insights to detect specific
speed problems with your site. (Be sure to check
desktop as well as mobile performance.)
• If you don’t want to spot check, use
seoClarity's Page Speed to pull in scores monthly
or bi-weekly to monitor and identify page speed
issues across your site.
How to Fix It:
• The solution to slow page load can vary from
simple to complex. Common solutions to increase
page speed include image optimization/
compression, browser caching improvement,
server response time improvement, and
JavaScript minifying.
• Speak with your web developer to ensure the best
possible solution for your site's particular page
speed issues.
7. Multiple Versions of the
Homepage
Remember when you discovered “yourwebsite.com”
and “www.yourwebsite.com” go to the same place?
While this is convenient, it also means Google may be
indexing multiple URL versions, which dilutes your
site's visibility in search.

Even worse, multiple versions of a live page may


confuse users and Google's indexing algorithm. As a
result, your site might not get indexed properly.

How to Fix It:


• First, check if different versions of your URL
successfully flow to one standard URL. This can
include HTTPS and HTTP versions, as well as
versions like “www.yourwebsite.com/home.html.”
Check each possible combination. Another way is
to use your “site:yoursitename.com” to determine
which pages are indexed and if they stem from
multiple URL versions.
• If you discover multiple indexed versions, you’ll
need to set up 301 redirects or have your
developer set them up for you. You should also
set your canonical domain in Google Search
Console.

8. Incorrect Rel=Canonical
Rel=canonical is particularly important for all sites with
duplicate or very similar content (especially
ecommerce sites). Dynamically rendered pages (like a
category page of blog posts or products) can look
duplicative to Google search bots.

The rel=canonical tag tells search engines which


“original” page is of primary importance (hence:
canonical) — similar to URL canonicalization.

How to Fix It:


• This one also requires you to spot check your
source code. Fixes vary depending on your
content structure and web platform.
(Here’s Google’s Guide to Rel=Canonical.) If you
need assistance, reach out to your web developer.

9. Duplicate Content
With more and more brands using dynamically
created websites, content management systems, and
practicing global SEO, the problem of duplicate
content plagues many websites.

It may “confuse” search engine crawlers and prevent


the correct content from being served to your target
audience.

Unlike content issues like too little or “thin” content


where you don’t have enough content on a page (at
least 300 words), duplicate content can occur for
many reasons:

• Ecommerce site store items appear on multiple


versions of the same URL.
• Printer-only web pages repeat content on the
main page.
• The same content appears in multiple languages
on an international site.
How to Fix It:
Each of these three issues can be resolved
respectively with:

• Proper rel=canonical (as noted above).


• Proper configuration (instructions for setup also
noted above).
• Correct implementation of hreflang tags.
Google’s support page offers other ideas to help limit
duplicate content including using 301 redirects, top-
level domains, and limiting boilerplate content.

10. Missing Alt Tags


Broken images and those missing alt tags are a
missed SEO opportunity. The image alt tag attribute
helps search engines index a page by telling the bot
what the image is about.
It’s a simple way to boost the SEO value of your page
via the image content that enhances your site's
experience.

How to Fix It:


Most SEO site audits will identify images that are
broken and missing alt tags. Running regular site
audits to monitor your image content as part of your
SEO standard operating procedures makes it easier
to manage and stay current with image alt tags across
your website.

Domain SEO Explained: Choosing an SEO Friendly


Domain Name

What’s in a domain name?

When it comes to SEO, it might be much more than you think. Your domain
name identi es who you are, what services you provide, and how you appear
in the marketplace. Depending on what you choose to register, your online
presence could appear more or less friendly to curious human visitors.
Today, global competition for ranking a good domain is increasingly
competitive: worldwide expenditures for SEO jumped to $80 billion in 2021.
Ranking highly for SEO matters more than ever, especially when it comes to
your domain name. Domain SEO impacts almost everything published on
your websites—your content, your landing pages, and even your products.
Understanding exactly how your domain name a ects page rankings and
web tra c is critical to the success of your brand. Let’s explore the basics of
domain SEO, starting with its actual de nition.

SEO vs. SEM


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SEM stands for search engine marketing – or, as it is more commonly known, search
marketing.

Search marketing is a type of digital marketing. It is an umbrella term for the


combination of SEO and PPC activities meant to drive traf c via organic search and paid
search.

Put simply, search marketing is the process of gaining traf c and visibility from search
engines through both paid and unpaid efforts.

So how do SEO and SEM differ? Technically they aren’t different – SEO is simply one-
half of SEM:

• SEO = driving organic traf c from search engines.


• SEM = driving organic and paid traf c from search engines.
Now, this is where things get a bit confusing.

Today, many people use SEM interchangeably with PPC (which we’ll talk about in the
next section).

This idea seems to undercut SEO. However, SEO is marketing, just like PPC is
marketing.

Here’s the best way to think about SEO and SEM:

Imagine SEM is a coin. SEO is one side of that coin. PPC is on the ip side.

SEO vs. PPC


PPC stands for pay-per-click – a type of digital marketing where advertisers are charged
whenever one of their ads gets clicked on.

Basically, advertisers bid on speci c keywords or phrases that they want their ads to
appear for in the search engine results. When a user searches for one of those keywords
or phrases, the advertiser’s ad will appear among the top results.

So again, if we think of search marketing as a coin, SEO and PPC are two sides of the
same coin – SEO is the unpaid side, PPC is the paid side.

Another key point: it’s important never to think of it as “SEO vs. PPC” (i.e., which one
is better) because these are complementary channels. It’s not an either-or question –
always choose both (as long as your budget allows it).

As we mentioned before, the terms SEM and PPC are used within the industry
interchangeably. However, that isn’t the case here on Search Engine Land.
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Whenever we mention “SEM,” it will be because we’re referring to both SEO (organic
search) and PPC (paid search).

If you’re curious about the history behind how “SEM” came to mean “PPC” at the
exclusion of SEO, you can dig deeper into these articles:

• How Wikipedia Turned PPC / Paid Search Into SEM


• Does SEM = SEO + CPC Still Add Up?
Part B: Implementing Site Analytics
and Conversion Tracking

Employ site analytics tools to track user behaviour, traffic sources, and
other key performance indicators (KPIs) for the website. Create a
comprehensive analytics report to analyse the website's performance
and identify areas for improvement.

Utilise SEO tools and reports to conduct a thorough SEO audit and
identify opportunities for enhancing search engine compatibility.
Implement strategies to improve conversion rates on the website and
increase user engagement.
NUMBER OF SESSIONS a s a u s e r, w h e r e b y a
distinction is made between
& USERS
new users and returning
How does the website visitors. In addition, each
tra c develop? user who visits the website
also generates a session. A
Our rst two Google single user can open
Analytics KPIs form the several sessions, whereby
fundamental basis for the tracking of a session is
monitoring the traf c to the terminated after 30 minutes
tracked website: the number of inactivity on the one hand
of sessions and users in the and at midnight on the other.
considered period. In Therefore, the number of
Google Analytics (GA), each users can never be greater
visitor is initially referred to than the number of
sessions.

Performance Indicators
Monitoring the quantitative
development of website
traf c is the cornerstone of
website performance and an
important component for
further analysis.
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NEW AND RETURNING business model, the
USERS industry, the marketing
channel responsible for the
How often do users return initial rst contact, the
to the website? user's intention and many
more.
Performance Indicators
Analyze the behavior of new
and returning visitors in
more detail in order to gain
valuable new insights to
improve performance. With
the help of remarketing, you
can increase the number of
The distinction between returning visitors.
new and returning visitors is
very helpful, as these two
user groups often di er
greatly in their website BOUNCE RATE
behavior, which can then be
viewed separately. As a rule,
returning visitors already
have an increased interest
in the o ered website
content or brand and can,
for example, be guided to
the desired target actions
with the help of dynamic,
individualized content. The
relationship between new
and returning visitors to a
website is in uenced by
numerous factors: the
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Are the visitors' average session duration
requirements being met? and a higher number of
Our third Website KPI is the pages viewed per session.
bounce rate, which
describes the percentage of
sessions in which a single GOAL CONVERSION RATE
page on the website (the
"landing page") was visited. Do visitors perform desired
Usually, the bounce rate is a target actions?
good indicator of whether
the visitor nds the desired
content on the website and
whether the respective
demand has been satis ed.
If this is not the case, the
visitor often leaves the
website without further
interaction and "bounces".
Please note that you can
also de ne bounces in GA
individually, for example,
when a session with certain In online marketing, a
actions on the landing page conversion is the execution
(e.g. events) is not counted of a desired target action by
as a bounce even if no a website visitor. For
further page is visited. example, an online
Performance Indicators purchase, a newsletter
For an initial, quick subscription or a contact
evaluation of the quality of registration. In Google
the website tra c, the Analytics you can create
bounce rate is helpful. A low a maximum of 20
bounce rate usually conversion goals, or target
correlates with a higher actions, which are tracked
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from the time they are
created. You can also
attribute a monetary value
to these conversions.
Detailed conversion tracking
is the basis for in-depth
analyses and sustainable
optimization of website
performance to achieve the
de ned business goals.
Conversion rate
optimization (CRO) plays a
central role in increasing the Our next 3 Google Analytics
goal conversion rate.
Performance Indicators KPIs focus on the so-called
De ne and create target "page tracking", i.e. the
actions in Google Analytics performance measurement
to cover all relevant of individual pages of a
business goals. View them website.
from di erent angles in your
analytics, such as for The time on page shows
di erent marketing how long visitors have
channels, landing pages, stayed on average on an
product categories or individual page or URL. Like
geolocation. the bounce rate, it is a good
indicator of the quality of
AVERAGE TIME ON PAGE the tra c on a page and
re ects how well the
How much time do visitors visitor's needs are met. In
spend on a page? our visual KPI template you
will nd the average time
spent (74.8 seconds) as well
as the times for the 5
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landing pages with the How important is the page
highest time duration. Such speed, actually?
an overview helps you to
quickly identify the most The average page load time
interesting content on the or page speed is
website. undoubtedly a key success
Performance Indicators factor for your website
The time on page and performance, and in many
average session various aspects:
duration are very often
misunderstood. Be sure to 1) Users: long loading
consider the way these times are no longer
metrics are calculated when tolerated by most
interpreting them. visitors in the digital age
Relevant Showcase and lead to an increase
Dashboard in the bounce rate.
2) Search engines: loading
times are a relevant
PAGE LOAD TIME BY ranking factor for the
COUNTRY organic search.
3) Paid advertising: the
loading time for Google
Ads, for example,
indirectly in uences the
quality factor via the
landing page experience
and thus the click
prices.
4) Mobile rst: especially
for the constantly
increasing number of
mobile accesses, short
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loading times are critical Are there issues with certain
for success browsers?
5) Data volume: measures
to optimise loading A high level of browser
times (minimisation of compatibility is nowadays a
images, CSS, JS, HTML, central requirement for a
etc.) inevitably lead to successful web presence. In
lower data tra c. practice, however, browser-
based problems occur
again and again, which can
lead from harmless minor
display errors to the total
loss of function of individual
pages or functions.

Some of these problems


also occur after browser
updates, so that this
problem may not have
Performance Indicators existed when developing
To analyze page load times the website. You can use
with the help of GA with as our Google Analytics KPI
accurately as possible, example to continuously
make sure to increase the monitor the relevant
proportion of tracked browsers and browser
visitors to 100% versions.
(see opt_sampleRate).
Analyse the page speed for As a rule, you should be
individual pages and able to identify problems by
countries in detail. an increased bounce rate.
BOUNCE RATE BY •
BROWSER
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What is a Think of it like having
the right kind of
conversion rate? customers walk into a
store — the better the
Conversion rates, also match, the more likely
known as conversion ratio, they are to buy
are the percentage of something.
website visitors who • User experience (UX)
complete a desired action, and website
such as making a purchase, design. Your website
signing up for a newsletter, should be easy to use
or lling out a contact form. and look good. A site
It is a great indicator of how that’s simple to
effective your website is in navigate and quick to
converting casual website load makes visitors
visitors into customers. happy, and happy
visitors are more likely
Key components of to make a purchase.
conversion rate • Clear call-to-actions
(CTAs). CTAs are the
Understanding and buttons or links that tell
optimizing conversion rates visitors what to do next,
can improve your online like “Buy Now” or “Sign
performance and build Up.” They should be
stronger connections with easy to see and
your target audience. That’s understand, guiding
why we’ll break down its key visitors clearly on what
components. to do next.
• Value
• Website traf c proposition. This is all
quality. It’s important to about why someone
have visitors interested should choose your
in what you’re offering. product or service. It’s
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the unique thing that people use their mobile
sets you apart from devices to shop and
others and answers the browse, so having a
question, “Why should I site that looks good and
buy this?” works well on mobile is
• Trust signals. These crucial.
are things on your • Personalization. This
website that make means making the
visitors trust you, like shopping experience
customer reviews or feel special for each
security badges. They visitor, like suggesting
show that other people products they might
have had good like. When visitors feel
experiences with your like your site
product or service, understands what they
making new visitors want, they’re more
more comfortable likely to buy something.
buying from you. How do conversion
• Optimized checkout rates help with revenue
process. The process generation?
of buying something on
your site should be Conversion rate plays a
quick and easy. A pivotal role in revenue
complicated checkout generation, especially
can make people give for eCommerce businesses.
up on their purchase, A higher conversion rate
so it’s important to keep means more of your website
it simple. visitors do what you want
• Mobile them to do. When this
optimization. Your happens, it results in an
website needs to work increase in sales and
well on phones and revenue.
tablets. More and more
Learning how to improve times visitors completed
conversion rates leads to the desired action. This
your business’ substantial could be anything from
revenue growth. By focusing making a purchase,
on optimizing the conversion signing up for a
rate, businesses can drive newsletter, downloading
higher pro ts and increase a white paper, etc.
chances of nancial • Total number of
success, while making the visitors. This is the
most of their existing traf c total number of people
and marketing efforts. who visited your site
during a speci c time
How to calculate frame.
conversion rate? • Multiplying by
100. This step is to
Conversion tracking convert the ratio into a
involves calculating the percentage, which is
conversion rate shows you easier to understand
precisely how well your and communicate.
business is doing to get For example, if you had 50
customers to take action. conversions, like 50 sales or
sign-ups, from 1,000 visitors
Conversion rate formula: to your site, the calculation
would be:
Conversion rate = (Total
number of visitors/number of Conversion Rate =
conversions )× 100 (50/1000) × 100 = 5%
Let’s break it down: This means that 5% of the
visitors to your site during
• Number of
that period completed the
conversions. This is
desired action, which is a
the total number of
decent conversion rate in
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many contexts. Remember, rate goals. So, getting
a higher conversion rate is started only needs the
typically better since it following steps:
means a greater proportion
of your visitors are taking • Research industry
the action you want them to average conversion
take. rates.
• Compare with similar
Benchmarking business models.
conversion rate for • Look into competitor
comparison conversion rates.
• Break down data by
Benchmarking your traf c sources, device
conversion rate is a key types, and
factor for evaluating your demographics.
business’s performance – in • Analyze conversion
comparison to industry rates at different
standards and competitors. customer journey
It helps you gauge the stages.
effectiveness of your • Compare with past
conversion rate optimization performance.
(CRO) efforts and identify • Align benchmarks with
areas for improvement. business goals and
resources.
Learning how your • Regularly update and
conversion rate measures adjust benchmarks.
up to others in your niche How to analyze
helps you gain valuable
insights into market trends your current
and potential growth conversion
opportunities. Benchmarking
also aids in setting realistic
performance
and achievable conversion
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Now that you know the buying something or signing
industry standard, it’s time to up.
check how your website is
doing. Here, we’ll check how Identify conversion rate
to assess your current bottlenecks and pain
conversion performance. points

Utilize analytics tools Find the reason behind low


for data insights conversion rates by
identifying bottlenecks and
Use analytics tools to get a pain points in your user
lot of useful information that experience. Are visitors
can help your business do abandoning their shopping
better. These tools show you carts at a particular step? Is
how people are using your a confusing layout deterring
website, where they come potential customers?
from, and how they interact
with your content. By checking out how users
move through your site, you
By looking at this data, you can nd out where they’re
can gure out what parts of getting stuck. Focus on
your website are doing well xing these issues with
and what parts need to be solutions that make things
better. Understanding how easier for your users. Work
users move through your on making their journey
site and where they stop through your site smoother
can help you make smart to help improve the chances
changes to your website’s of them completing a
design and content, which purchase or another desired
can lead to more people action.
doing what you want them
to do on your site, like Track and monitor key
metrics
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Stay in the driver’s seat by with the potential to
tracking key metrics. in uence visitors into
Beyond conversion rate, becoming loyal customers.
check other metrics like: By prioritizing UX, you
ensure that every click,
• bounce rate scroll, and interaction
• exit rate resonates positively in a
• time on page way that fosters a deeper
Get insights that provide a connection with the
holistic view of user audience.
engagement and highlight
areas that demand Make your website
attention. Monitor the click- navigation and structure
through rates of your calls- seamless
to-action (CTA) and the
performance of different
Visitors should seamlessly
landing pages.
nd what they need, be it
product information or
Conversion rate checkout options. A clutter-
optimization: 13 free layout reduces
confusion and encourages
steps to improve visitors to explore more.
your eCommerce Each click should feel like a
conversion rate step closer to the desired
outcome. It should minimize
friction and boost the
Section 1: Improving chances of conversions.
user experience (UX)
and website design Optimize mobile
responsiveness for
A seamless, intuitive UX mobile users
builds trust and satisfaction
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There are an drives conversions.
estimated 17.72 billion Strategic language
number of mobile owners resonates with visitors,
worldwide. With mobile especially when it answers
users forming a signi cant their needs.
chunk of your audience, a
subpar mobile experience Before putting pen to paper,
can cost conversions. So, you need to understand
responsive website design your target audience. Figure
is non-negotiable. out how your potential
customers think and unravel
Optimizing for mobile their pain points, desires,
responsiveness ensures and motivations. Knowing
your website looks and these shapes your content
functions awlessly across into something they can
different devices, whether relate to.
it’s on smartphones, tablets,
laptops, or PCs. Buttons are Promote your offers as the
easily tappable, text is solutions to their problem.
legible, and images load This connection not only
swiftly. boosts conversions but also
forges trust and loyalty –
Craft compelling and something that’s essential to
persuasive copy fostering lasting
relationships.
Words possess an You can sell these offers
extraordinary ability to better by writing compelling
shape perceptions and product descriptions and
ignite action. Crafting CTAs. Highlight their
compelling content goes bene ts, emphasize value
beyond conveying and showcase real-world
information; it forges an applications. At the same
emotional connection that
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Part C: Building and Executing an
SEO Campaign
Develop a plan for making the website search engine compatible,
considering technical SEO aspects.

Implement navigation and linking techniques to improve website structure


and ensure smooth user navigation.

Create and execute an SEO campaign, setting clear objectives and defining
tasks and milestones to achieve the desired SEO goals
How to Create an SEO-Friendly
Website: 14 Tips for Long-Term
Organic Growth

Adjusting your website for search engine


optimization (SEO) is necessary for today’s
competitive online environment. Around 68% of
online experiences begin with a query on search
engines like Google.
As a result, having your web pages appear on the top
search result grants many bene ts, from increasing
organic traf c to boosting your site’s credibility.
In this article, we will cover the importance of applying
SEO strategies to your website. Additionally, we’ll look
at 14 ways to make your site work well with Google
and other search engines.
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Why Having an SEO-Friendly
Website Is Important
Applying SEO strategies when starting a website from
scratch will have such positive effects as:
• Increased credibility – an SEO-friendly website will
help build the brand’s credibility, as users typically
see the top search result as the authority in the niche.
• Improved user experience – Google and other search
engines see user experience as one of the most
important ranking factors. As a result, an SEO-friendly
web design improves overall user satisfaction.
• Reduced costs – SEO is a cost-effective way to
generate leads and sales. It can help save you money
in the long run by reducing your need for paid ads or
other marketing tactics.
• Increased traf c – SEO-friendly websites have the
potential to rank higher in search engine results and
drive more traf c, as the top result typically gets
around 32% of all clicks.
Neglecting SEO means you’re missing out on the potential
to make your website a more valuable asset. For this
reason, we recommend prioritizing search engine
optimization for your online marketing strategy.
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How to Make SEO Friendly
Website
Creating an SEO-friendly website requires constant work due
to frequent algorithm updates. Furthermore, it might take
some time to improve your rankings.
Here, we will look at 14 methods to help you take the rst step in
getting your website to appear at the top of the rst search engine
result page.

1. Use Keywords Throughout


Your Content
Writing SEO-friendly content is critical to improving your
website’s position on search engine result pages (SERPs).
When creating a blog post, incorporate relevant keywords to
help search engines recognize what your website is about. You
can get them by conducting keyword research.
Search your main keyword on the search engine, and you will
nd other related terms in the results. For example, if you
search for pet toys, you will see other keywords, such as dog
toys and pet supplies.
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Additionally, consider using tools like Google
Trends or Ahrefs to better understand popular topics
and your audience’s search intent.
Google Trends is useful for comparing two different
terms and seeing how often people search for them
over time.
On the other hand, Ahrefs can show you more
advanced metrics like keyword volume and traf c
potential. These factors help you choose target
keywords to use in your content.
Once you nd your targeted keywords, try to apply
them naturally and strategically. Avoid including
keywords in content without considering their context
and readability. This can negatively impact user
experience and reduce your chance of appearing on
the top of the SERPs.

2. Use Header Tags

Another way to create an SEO friendly website is by


utilizing header tags properly. They are HTML
elements that give structure and meaning to a web
page’s content, helping search engines understand its
contents.
Header tags consist of <h1> to <h6> HTML elements.
Focus on your <h1> and <h2> tags since they are
commonly used for the content’s title and headings.
List your keywords and include them in these tags
accordingly.
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Try to also include relevant SEO keywords to other
headers once you optimize all the <h1> tags. Apply
this method consistently whenever you publish
content to improve your SEO rankings.
As a result, search engine crawlers will know that this
page contains content related to those terms and be
able to accurately index your site for relevant content.
This will improve your page ranking on the SERPs,
enabling you to reach the right audience.

3. Have a Clean URL Structure

A clean URL structure is essential to creating an SEO-


friendly website. An SEO-friendly URL should be easy
to read, simple to understand, and related to the
page’s context.
Search engines use URLs to crawl and index
websites, so having SEO-friendly URLs helps them
understand what content is on each page. Do this by
including the target keyword on the URL.
For example, a URL for a page about an SEO-friendly
website design could look like
this: www.examplewebsite.com/seo-web-design.
Avoid using long query strings with numbers, like /
top-23-seo-web-design-practises-in-2024-for-top-
Professionals – this can make them hard to read and
less SEO-friendly.
With SEO-friendly URLs, search engines can crawl
your website more ef ciently and accurately,
increasing your site’s position in relevant search
results.

4. Include Keyword-Rich
Anchor Text in Your Links

Anchor texts are clickable words that take users to


another page or section of the website when clicked.
Adding SEO-friendly anchor texts allows search
engines to understand the content better and rank it
higher.

When creating an SEO-friendly anchor text, you


should focus on the keywords that relate to your
website.

Think of words or phrases relevant to the content and


best explain what it links to. For example, if you’re
linking to a page about SEO tips, use anchor text such
as Learn SEO tips or SEO strategies.
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Remember, SEO-friendly anchor texts should be
relevant to the linked page and give search engines
an idea of what the content is about. It’s also
important to avoid keyword stuf ng in your anchor
text, as this could negatively impact the website’s
SEO score.

5. Make Sure the Website Is


Mobile-Friendly
Making an SEO-friendly website involves more than
optimizing the content – it also includes building
a mobile-friendly website.

In fact, mobile users contributed nearly 59% of the


global website traf c in the second quarter of 2022.
As a result, Google and other search engines
consider a website’s mobile-friendliness as an
important factor in ranking search results.

Because of that, your website should be able to load


quickly on mobile devices. Ensure your website’s
design is responsive, which means it can adjust to
different screen sizes.
Fortunately, most ready-to-use themes for WordPress
or other website platforms come with a mobile
version.
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Don’t forget to use tools like Google’s Mobile-
Friendly Test to check if your site is up to the current
standards.

Suggested Reading
Check out our article on How to Design a
Website for more tips on web design best practices.

6. Optimize Images
Optimizing images for SEO is a great way to
improve the visibility of your website in search
engines. You can take several steps to ensure that
your images are SEO-friendly and help boost your
SEO performance.

Make sure that you give each image an appropriate


le name. It should include keywords related to the
content of the image. This will help search engines
identify the image’s content, which can lead to better
visibility on the SERPs.

Reduce the size of your images before you upload


them to your website. Larger le sizes can slow your
page down, negatively affecting SEO performance.
Consider compressing your images to reduce their
size while maintaining their quality. WordPress users
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can use tools like Smush and EWWW Image
Optimizer to optimize image size for their websites.

Additionally, don’t forget to add alternative text for


each image. Alt text is a piece of HTML code that
describes the image’s content and will appear if an
image fails to load properly.

Adding this information helps search engines


recognize the context within images, improving your
SEO performance.
Finally, consider adding short captions under your
images. Doing so can also give more context to the
images, which improves user experience.

7. Make Sure Your Web Pages


Load Fast

Search engines prioritize websites that load quickly


and can provide an optimal user experience. A slow
website will hurt your SEO effort, reduce customer
satisfaction, and make it harder for search engines to
crawl your content.
Fortunately, there are several steps you can take
to optimize your website, including:
• Reduce server response time by optimizing HTTP
requests.
• Compress images and other media les, reducing
their size while maintaining quality.
• Leverage browser caching to store frequently
accessed les locally in each user’s browser
instead of downloading them every time.
• Use a content delivery network (CDN) to
distribute the load of hosting images, videos, and
other static content across multiple servers
worldwide.
• Get a better web hosting plan with higher
bandwidth.

Consider using tools like Google’s PageSpeed


Insights to check if your site meets the standard and
get various insights on how you can improve its
loading speed.
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8. Use Social Media to Promote
Your Content
Promoting your content on social media is one of the
best ways to create an SEO-friendly website. Your
content can reach a wider audience, resulting in more
backlinks that search engines will index and consider
when ranking your website.

Growing your brand through social media requires


some knowledge and several skills. It is also critical to
understand which social media platforms can drive
valuable traf c based on your niche so that you can
focus your effort on the relevant channels.
For example, Pinterest and Instagram might drive the
least external website visit in general, but they can be
effective for speci c topics like fashion and food-
related content.

Last but not least, don’t forget to add referral links and
calls to action (CTAs) to your pro le and posts.
Creating attractive CTAs with clear messages can
help drive more traf c to your website.

9. Use Google Tools


Another important aspect of creating an SEO-friendly
website is analyzing its core metrics. Website owners
can get this information through various analytics
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tools, including Google Search Console and Google
Analytics. These tools are not only crucial for tracking
performance but also for understanding how to
submit your website to search engines properly.
This submission process is essential for ensuring that
your site is recognized and appropriately indexed by
search engines, thereby improving its visibility in
search results.

Don’t worry if you have a limited budget, as many of


these tools are free.
Google Search Console can help website owners see
how their sites are performing in Google search
results.

The data can help you understand how Google views


your content and which queries audiences use to nd
it. It gives you an overview of how much organic traf c
you have generated and guides you on improving
your website’s visibility based on Google’s guidelines.
This tool also provides detailed reports on any errors
found in your website’s content and helps you identify
various issues that might affect your search engine
rankings. This includes problems like duplicate
content, incorrect meta tags, or broken links.
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While it’s not directly related to SEO, Google Analytics
is also useful for giving you various metrics to help
improve your site’s performance in general. For
example, you can get the report on which page has
the highest bounce rate.
This allows you to properly assess the possible cause
of the problem and take the necessary steps to x it.

10. Clean Up and Organize the


Site Code
Your website consists of numerous lines of code that
run various functions. These lines of code can
become unorganized and hinder one another as you
grow your website. To prevent this, we recommend
cleaning them up when necessary.
This process can also help the search engine indexing
process and make your site load faster. These two
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factors are the key elements that highly affect your
website’s SEO performance.
Website code may cover different types of
programming languages. The three most common
ones are HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Each of these
languages is organized differently.

Fortunately, there are tools like Dirty Markup, HTML


Cleaner, and JS Beauti er to help you with the
process.
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